South West Norfolk

An update from the County Commissioner

Earlier this year I shared with you that I had asked a small working group to conduct an operational review into the support structure for Scouting in the South West area of Norfolk.

The review covered a number of areas but one of the most noticeable would be the future allocation of Groups.

Following the conclusion of the review, and accepting the review group’s recommendation, I can confirm that from 1 January 2020 the Groups currently within South West Norfolk will change Districts as indicated below.


Joining Central Norfolk

1st Ashill

1st Swaffham

2nd Marham (RAF)

Panther Explorer Scout Unit

Joining North West Norfolk

1st Downham Market

2nd Runcton Holme and Watlington

1st Wereham and Wretton

1st Methwold

1st Feltwell

Joining Southern Norfolk

1st Harling

3rd Thetford

Iceni Explorer Scout Unit


1st Brandon have indicated that they would wish to be considered for a move from Norfolk Scouts to Suffolk Scouts to reconcile Scouting reporting to local authority boundaries. Suffolk Scouts are currently considering this application. I will provide a further update when I am able to confirm the outcome.

All Groups have been made aware of these changes and are being welcomed by their future home Districts.


South West Norfolk held a wonderfully positive final AGM on 10 October, this event was seen as the start of the transition to the new operating model.

For clarity, to remind that no reporting lines will change officially until 1 January 2020 and the South West Norfolk team led by Dave Human continue to operate and provide oversight for Scouting in that area on Norfolk until then.

With best regards


Matthew Burrell | County Commissioner (Norfolk)